top of page

Acute Care

Patients will be taken to an acute hospital that is part of the Trauma Network - either a Major Trauma Centre or one of the Trauma Units. The pre-hospital services will decide which hospital to take patients to based on the East of England Trauma Triage Tool (TTT). Where possible and safe, TTT positive patients will be taken directly to a Major Trauma Centre, usually at Addenbrooke's Hospital in Cambridge but for those in the south of the region they may be taken to the Royal London Hospital or St Mary's Hospital - both Major Trauma Centres.


The hospital's Trauma Committee is the focus for quality and governance of trauma care. It is led by an appointed chair who also becomes a member of the Trauma Network Acute Care Group.

Major Trauma Centres in the East of England

Cambridge University Hospitals (Addenbrooke's) - Cambridge

Clinical Director of Major Trauma - Dr Jaikirty Rawal

Trauma Units in the East of England

Bedford Hospital

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Deva Subramanyam

Colchester Hospital

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Daniel Stanciu and Dr Slav Koshonko

Ipswich Hospitals

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Michael Crabtree

James Paget Hospital, Great Yarmouth

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Jim Flatt

Lister Hospital, Stevenage

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Shridhar Sanglikar

Luton and Dunstable Hospital

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Amir Reyahi

Mid-Essex Hospitals (Broomfield), Chelmsford

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Eahab Alchalabi

Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Nicola Wallace - King

Peterborough City Hospital

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Daniel Walter

Princess Alexandra Hospital, Harlow

Major Trauma Lead (Temporary) - Dr Hossam Ahmad

Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Kings Lynn

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Alistair Steel

West Suffolk Hospital, Bury St Edmunds

Major Trauma Lead - Dr Harry Wardell

The first hour of care is standardised in both the Major Trauma Centre and Trauma Units - see TEMPO Acute Care section for details

Trauma Committee
bottom of page